News About Psychologists in Research and Academics

The American Philosophical Society presented the Karl Spencer Lashley Award jointly to Mortimer Mishkin, PhD, Chief of the Laboratory of Neuropsychology and Associate Director of the Intramural Research Program at the National Institute of Mental Health, and Patricia Goldman-Rakic, PhD, Professor of Neuroscience at Yale University. The $15,000 award was established through a gift from Dr. Lashley, Emeritus Research Professor of Neuropsychology at Harvard University and Emeritus Director of the Yerkes Laboratories of Primate Biology in Florida.

Dr. Mishkin was cited for his 'seminal contributions to the memory and the perceptual systems of the brain' and for his 'contributions to the understanding of the higher nervous system function.' He developed the first primate model simulating the memory deficit in humans caused by a temporal lobe lesion.

Dr. Goldman-Rakic was recognized for her 'seminal contributions to our current understanding of the prefrontal cortex and its role in working memory.' The American Philosophical Society commended Dr. Rakic's work as 'pivotal in effectively applying the insights of basic biological sciences to the understanding of mental health.'

Lloyd Girton Humphreys, PhD, is the 1996 recipient of the Distinguished Service to Measurement Award, conferred by the Educational Testing Service (ETS). Dr. Humphreys, Professor of Psychological Research Emeritus at the University of Illinois, received the award in recognition of his 60-year career in which he studied the 'theoretical, practical, and policy implications of individual differences, especially individual and group differences in human abilities.' The Distinguished Service to Measurement Award is presented annually by ETS to a person whose work has had a significant impact on the 'theoretical or practical development of educational and psychological measurement.'

Health and Human Services Secretary Donna E. Shalala, MD, appointed APA Fellow James S. Jackson, PhD, to serve a 4-year term on the National Institute on Aging's (NIA) Advisory Council on Aging. Dr. Jackson is Director and Research Scientist at the Research Center for Group Dynamics at the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research.

The American Psychological Foundation (APF) selected Gary F. Marcus, PhD, to receive the 1996 APF Robert L. Fantz Award. The $2,000 award, a supplement to APA's Early Career Award, is issued on Dr. Marcus's behalf to his institution, the University of Massachusetts, for equipment purchases, travel, and computer resources needed to conduct his work.

The Robert L. Fantz Award criteria stipulate that the winner must be a young researcher whose work covers basic scientific research or scholarly writing in the fields of perceptual-cognitive development, the development of selective attention, or the development of individuality, creativity, and free choice behavior.

APA Home Page . Search . Site Map