News About Psychologists in Research and Academics

Awards and Honors

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) has selected two psychologists to receive the prestigious Troland Research Awards in honor of their outstanding contributions to experimental psychology.

Joseph E. Steinmetz, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychology at Indiana University, Bloomington, received the Troland Award 'for his pioneering anatomical, physiological, and behavioral studies that identified pathways in the brain.'

Steven G. Yantis, PhD, Professor of Psychology at Johns Hopkins University, was cited 'for his insightful research on visual attention, especially his studies on the capture and the interactions between attention and perceptual organization.'

The awards, accompanied by a $35,000 research grant, will be presented to Drs. Steinmetz and Yantis on April 29 at a ceremony in Washington, DC, during the Academy's 133rd annual meeting.

The J. William Fulbright Scholarship Board and the United States Information Board chose nine psychologists to be Fulbright Scholars. The following are the names of the winners, their host institutions, and the country in which they will lecture, consult, or conduct research in the coming year.

New Appointments

Joseph L. Young, PhD, has been named Social, Behavioral, and Economic Research (SBER) Information Director at the National Science Foundation (NSF). In this position, Dr. Young will assist William Butz, PhD, SBER Division Director, in keeping abreast of current developments in scientific, professional, and political arenas that affect the behavioral and social sciences. He will also be responsible for assessing current science policy issues relevant to strategic planning for SBER.

Previously, Dr. Young was Program Director for Human Cognition and Perception at NSF.

APA Home Page . Search . Site Map