Curt Burgess, PhD, along with 29 scientists and engineers, was chosen to be a National Science Foundation (NSF) Presidential Faculty Fellow. Dr. Burgess is a psychologist in the Cognitive Psychology Program, Department of Psychology, at the University of California, Riverside.

Hilleary Everist, PhD, was named Deputy Director for Social, Behavioral and Economic Research at the National Science Foundation. Dr. Everist works under Allen Kornberg, PhD, the Research Division Director. A psychologist, Dr. Everist came from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) where she was the Special Assistant to the Acting Director of NIMH.

Catherine Gaddy, PhD, was appointed Executive Director of the Commission on Professionals in Science and Technology (CPST), an organization affiliated with the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Gaddy will be working with national leaders of scientific and engineering communities, corporate America (with global potential), and organizations of higher education. Previously, Dr. Gaddy was Associate Director of Program Consultation and Accreditation in the APA Education Directorate.

The American Academy of Forensic Science selected Elizabeth Loftus, PhD, to receive the Academy's 1995 Distinguished Contributions to Forensic Psychology Award. Dr. Loftus, a psychologist at the University of Washington, will present her award address at the 1995 APA Annual Convention in New York City.

Ken Nakayama, PhD, was selected to serve on the National Advisory Eye Council (NAEC), which provides programmatic and policy advice to the National Eye Institute (part of NIH) regarding the conduct and support of vision research. Dr. Nakayama, Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, has recently been studying higher aspects of visual function, including visual attention, visual surface representation, and visual memory.

Paul Pilkonis, PhD, a psychologist at the Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic in Pittsburgh, joined the National Institute of Mental Health December 1, 1994, on an Intergovernmental Personnel Agreement. Dr. Pilkonis is advising the Clinical Treatment Research Branch on its current research portfolio.

News at NIA

Two psychologists have been appointed to 4-year terms on the National Advisory Council on Aging, which provides secondary review of all grants of the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and programmatic advice to the Director of that Institute.

Carol A. Barnes, PhD, is Professor in the Departments of Psychology and Neurology at the University of Arizona, Tucson. Her research has focused on neuroscientific studies of learning and memory, including studies on the effects of long-term exercise on spatial memory, brain autoimmunity, and in vivo antibody response in aged rats.

Gerald E. McClearn, PhD, is Director of the Center for Developmental and Health Genetics at the Pennsylvania State University. He is the Evan Pugh Professor of Health and Human Development. Dr. McClearn's research has focused in part on the reliability and stability of biomarkers in aging, the variability and stability in cognitive abilities in later life, and alcohol, aging, and genetics.

News at NIDA

On December 30, 1994, two top behavioral scientists left the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). Charles R. Schuster, PhD, NIDA's Director from 1986 to 1992, retired from federal service to become Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Wayne State University. After leading the Institute for 6 years, Dr. Schuster moved to the Addiction Research Center to resume his research career as Senior Scientist in the Office of the Director.

Chris Ellyn Johanson, PhD, Chief of the Etiology Research Branch at the Addiction Research Center, will also be leaving NIDA for Wayne State.

APA Home Page . Search . Site Map