Third Science Advocacy Workshop Focuses on NSF

Ten research psychologists traveled to Washington, DC, June 8-10, to attend the third Science Advocacy Workshop, sponsored by the APA Public Policy Office and the Science Directorate. The focus of the workshop was on federal investment in the National Science Foundation (NSF). Each participant selected, in addition to having an impressive research portfolio, lives or works in a state or district represented by a member of an authorization or appropriations subcommittee overseeing NSF.

During the 2-day workshop, the psychologists participated in discussions and presentations on the federal legislative process (including the important role of constituents), grassroots advocacy efforts, NSF's organization, new directions at NSF such as the Learning and Intelligent Systems Initiative, the current status of NSF's FY 1997 appropriations and authorization, and media training. They also met with William Butz, Director of NSF's Social, Behavioral and Economic Research Division, and James Wilson, Professional Staff on the House Science Committee, Basic Research Subcommittee.

Michael Burke, PhD, and Rep. Bob Livingston (R-LA)On the second day of the workshop, participants visited their representatives or senators. Among the many Capitol Hill visits, Michael Burke, PhD, from Tulane, met with Rep. Bob Livingston (R-LA), Chair of the House Appropriations Committee (see photo on left). Leslie Cohen, PhD, and Philip Gough, PhD, of the University of Texas, Austin, discussed support for NSF with Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), who serves on the House Science Committee. Rep. James Walsh (R-NY), a member of the House VA-HUD Appropriations Subcommittee, met with his constituent, Michael Toglia, PhD, of the State University of New York at Cortland.

The other workshop participants included Douglas Detterman, PhD, Case Western Reserve; Lynne Koester, PhD, Chair of the Psychology Department at the University of Montana; David Payne, State University of New York at Binghamton; Henry Roediger, PhD, Chair of the Psychology Department at Washington University; Roger Thompson, PhD, Franklin & Marshall College; and Arlene Walker-Andrews, PhD, Rutgers University.

These most recent workshop participants were the latest of a growing list of psychologists that APA has brought to Washington for intensive advocacy training. They form the nucleus of an expanding network of researchers committed to forging and maintaining ties with their Washington legislators so that they can influence policy critical to federal support for psychological science.

For more information, contact Elizabeth Baldwin in PPO or Merry Bullock, PhD, in the Science Directorate.

APA Home Page . Search . Site Map