Four New Members Elected to APASSC

APA Science Student Council
APA Science Student Council (back row, left to right): Don Operario, Debra Gill, Dean Cruess, Hendre‚ Jones, Christie Manning, and Matt Cordova; (front row, left to right): Caroline Miner (APAGS Science Member-at-Large Liaison), Rick Gilmore, Fred Morgeson, Eric Youngstrom, and Cathy Angelillo.
Four new members joined the APA Science Student Council (APASSC), an advisory group to the Science Directorate, at its recent October meeting in Washington, DC. The new representatives are Catherine Angelillo, University of California, Santa Cruz (developmental); Hendre, Jones, Virginia Commonwealth University (biopsychology); Christie Manning, University of Minnesota (cognitive); and Eric Youngstrom, University of Delaware (quantitative). These students will work with continuing Council members Matthew Cordova (Science Editor), University of Kentucky (clinical); Dean Cruess, University of Miami (clinical/health); Debra Gill, University of California, Los Angeles (clinical); Rick Gilmore, Carnegie Mellon University (cognitive neuroscience); Frederick Morgeson (Chair), Purdue University (industrial/organizational); and Don Operario, University of Massachusetts (social).

Since its recent meeting, the Council has begun several new projects. APASSC members are developing their own Web page and organizing a convention program at which distinguished scientists can talk informally to students about their own graduate education experiences and advise them on ways that they can better prepare for the work force. The Council has also been working with the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) on a science section that appears in every issue of the APAGS newsletter and features articles of interest to science-oriented psychology graduate students.

The Council has an ongoing interest in receiving suggestions from other students about how it may best serve science-oriented graduate students in psychology. Please send suggestions to:

Marybeth Hanley
APA Science Directorate
750 First Street, NE
Washington, DC 20002-4242
phone: (202) 336-6000
fax: (202) 336-5953

APA Home Page . Search . Site Map