White House Honors Women in Science

Capping off a day of events focusing on women■s contributions to science, a reception was held at the Kennedy Center in Washington, March 9, to honor women scientists. The reception was scheduled to introduce a six-part PBS series on women scientists, which was aired in March and April.

A policy seminar during the day, arranged by the White House, featured several distinguished speakers, including Neal Lane, PhD, NSF Director; Anne Petersen, PhD, NSF Deputy Director; Hillary Clinton; Alice Rivlin, Director of the Office of Management and Budget; Jack Gibbons, PhD, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Eileen Collins, space shuttle pilot; France Cordova, PhD, NASA Chief Scientist; and M.R.C. Greenwood, PhD, OSTP Associate Director for Science.

The following psychologists attended the policy briefing: William Howell, PhD, APA Executive Director for Science; Gwendolyn Keita, PhD, APA Associate Executive Director for Public Interest; Andrea Solarz, PhD, APA Assistant Director for Science Policy; Karen Kovacs, PhD, APA Science Policy Fellow at OSTP; Barbara Andersen, PhD, Ohio State University; Linda Bartoshuk, PhD, Yale University School of Medicine; John Cacioppo, PhD, Ohio State University and Division 8 President; and Martha Farah, PhD, University of Pennsylvania.

[ guffaws to / ]